Whole Wheat Nankhatai

Its one of those days when I just felt like baking something… anything… as long its gotta do with flour(whole wheat), sugar, butter/oil, etc.

For the last couple of months I haven’t consumed any food item consisting of enriched flour/Maida and I don’t intend to for the next couple of months either.
The Good– I’ve been on a healthier diet
The Bad– I couldn’t bake as much as I used to. The thought of substituting all purpose flour to whole wheat in cupcakes/cake didn’t appeal to me.

But when I came across this ‘whole wheat’ recipe on the Home Bakers Guild group on Facebook- posted by Neha Deshpande– I just had to try it.

Nankhatai is a very popular indian biscuit that is traditionally made with maida/enriched flour. I think its the combination of butter and flour in appropriate (I mean generous) amounts that makes it melt in your mouth. I happen to be in that ‘healthy-eating’ groove so this recipe turned out to be a boon.  But hey, I am not gonna treat these as the HEALTHY biscuits. Its just a HEALTHIER option for those looking out for alternatives.

Whole Wheat Nankhatai

Whole Wheat Nankhatai

Preparation time: 20 minutes
Baking time: 20 minutes
Overall:  45 minutes
Yield: 15 pcs.
Ingredients:

1 1/8 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp cardamom powder
1/2 tbsp yogurt


Method:
  • Pre-heat oven at 350F/175C. Set a baking tray with parchment paper
  • Mix whole wheat flour and baking powder thoroughly. I generally use a whisk so its well incorporated.
  • In a separate bowl beat sugar and butter till creamy
  • Add the cardamom powder and yogurt and beat for another three minutes
  • Add the butter mixture to the four and mix well with a spatula till it forms a soft dough
  • Make small 1-inch rounds of the dough and place it on the parchment paper, about 1/2 inch apart. Make sure to flatten each round just a bit.
  • Bake for 20 minutes or until light golden brown
Whole Wheat Nankhatai

Whole Wheat Nankhatai

Tips:
  1. Once the dough is ready, do taste a bit to check for desired sweetness
  2. I ended up baking these for 25 minutes which is why they cracked this much and hardened a bit upon cooling. I’d say stick to 20 minutes.
  3. I used store-bought cardamom powder and so the flavor turned out to be slightly overwhelming for this amount. I’d be careful the next time. Maybe reduce the quantity to 1/4 tsp.
  4. Feel free to add some dry fruit of your choice- almond or pistachio
Whole Wheat Nankhatai

Whole Wheat Nankhatai

Overall I am quite pleased with the outcome. This one isn’t as soft as a traditional nankhatai (maybe because of over-baking it) but it tastes wonderful. Good enough to satisfy my sweet tooth for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

