EGGLESS Banana Bread (cake)

This is the third time I have baked this cake in the last one month(that’s how much its being demanded by my foodie hubby)

Banana Bread

 And there are two reasons to be happy about it:
(1) Its absolutely healthy(sans cane sugar),
(2) I used ground chia seeds to substitute eggs and the result was just FAB

A friend of mine had baked banana bread with whole wheat flour and honey and it tasted so fab that I just had to try it for myself. So I rushed to trader joe’s and got me some coconut and almond flour. At first I was skeptical to mix whole wheat, almond, and coconut flour but in the end the concoction turned out to be delicious. In my opinion, naked cakes are at their best(taste) after 24 hours.

The first time I baked this, I used Agave syrup to substitute sugar. The second time was Honey, and the third time Cane Sugar. If I were to pick the best substitute for sugar, its Honey- healthier, and doesn’t mess with the texture.

Banana bread II

The original recipe is from Hoosier Homemade and I can totally swear by it.

Here is my version of the recipe:

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour, minus 1 TBSP
1/2 cup coconut flour, minus 1 TBSP
1/2 cup almond flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 cup honey/ 2/3 cup agave/ 1 cup sugar
2 tsp ground chia seeds + 4 TBSP water
3 bananans, overripe and mashed
1/2 cup Oil (I used canola oil)
A handful of Raisins/Walnuts

Method:
  1. First things first, preheat oven at 350F/180C and smear/spray some oil all around the baking pan. I used a 9-inch circular baking pan since I don’t have a 9*5inch bread pan.
  2. Soak the chia seeds in water for about ten minutes. By doing so the chia seeds would turn into a pasty mixture, making it easier to beat and incorporate.
  3. Sift flour, salt, sugar, and baking soda in a large bowl and keep aside. I was left with bits from the almond flour(skin) and so I had to use my bare hands to push all of the flour through the sieve, and eventually added the leftover bits of the skin to the sifted flour.
  4. Add oil and chia seeds to the mixing bowl (I use Kitchen aid stand mixer) and beat well.
  5. Add mashed bananas and vanilla essence to the oil mixture and beat well. I’d say for about 2 minutes at least.
  6. NOW, the most important step- Adding the flour. In any eggless cake it is very, very important to add the flour delicately to make sure the cake turns out fluffy. And in order to do that here are couple of options I opt:
    – Add half the quantity of flour and beat just enough till it mixes. Put in the remaining flour and again beat just till it mixes. DO NOT OVER-BEAT.
    – Add the entire flour and whisk it gently manually
  7. Fold in raisins or chopped walnuts gently.
  8. Pour the batter-its gonna be thick-into the pan and spread it evenly. Do not spend too much time on this since the baking soda gets activated the minute flour touches the oil-banana mixture.
  9. Cover the pan with a aluminum foil so the sides don’t get dry and crusty
  10. Bake for 55 minutes. Insert a skewer at the center and if it comes out clean, its READY 😀
  11. Cool it on a wire rack for about five minutes before transferring. When completely cooled, cut into cubes and enjoy 🙂
Leave a Reply

